Football League Annouces Deal With BBC

Last updated : 06 November 2007 By Rob Miles (barnsley Boy)
Source: BBC:

The BBC will show Football League and Carling Cup matches from the 2009 to 2012 seasons after winning the contract in a joint bid with Sky.

It means Championship matches will be screened live on the BBC for the first time, with 10 first-choice games per season exclusively live on the BBC.

The Carling Cup final will be simulcast live with Sky, and two semi-final legs shown exclusively live on the BBC.

The BBC Sport website will also show goals from all Football League clubs.

Director of BBC Sport Roger Mosey said: "We are genuinely excited about the potential of the Football League properties on the BBC.

"Our aim in the three seasons of our agreement is a simple one: to showcase the new acquisitions across all our platforms, and to make our commitment to football deeper and stronger at every level. "

Under the new agreement, Sky Sports' broadcast rights include 65 matches from the Football League, exclusively live, and the Football League play-offs - including all three finals - exclusively live.

Sky will also show exclusive live matches from rounds one to five of the Carling Cup - two matches per round - and two legs of the Carling Cup semi-finals exclusively live.

Football League Chairman Lord Mawhinney said: "We are delighted to be continuing our strong partnership with Sky Sports and are excited by the prospect of working closely with the BBC.

"Sky and the BBC will provide a fantastic boost to Football League clubs and their supporters."

The new agreements are worth £88m per season to Football League clubs and encompass terrestrial and pay television, broadband internet, video-on-demand and mobile services.

Meanwhile, the BBC's other football commitments remain strong.

Match Of The Day is in the first year of a new three-year deal with the Premier League.

The BBC has rights to show Euro 2008 next summer, and then the biggest events in international football - the World Cups in South Africa 2010 and Brazil 2014.