It's a Grim Friendly For Barnsley

Last updated : 16 July 2017 By Rob Miles

Barnsley’s winless pre-season continued after falling to a late defeat to League Two outfit Grimsby Town.

The Reds gave first starts of 2017-2018 to six players with Liam Lindsay and Jason McCarthy making their first starts for the club and the game originally took on a familiar look to their first outing at Guiseley with Lloyd Isgrove opening the scoring. The 24 year old made it two in two after 38 minutes when Adam Davies threw out to George Moncur and he ran nearly the full length of the pitch before firing in a low left wing cross which Grimsby defender Nathan Clarke turned onto his own post allowing “Izzy” to slide in the rebound.

Despite dominating the rest of the first half Barnsley could not add to their advantage and were made to pay straight after the restart when a long ball from the Mariners keeper caused confusion in the Reds rearguard and Siriki Dembele charged through to coolly finish past Adam Davies.

The rest of the half saw Barnsley have most of the play with Andy Yiadom coming close to giving the Reds the lead only to see his daisy cutter turned away by Mariners keeper James McKeown and they were made to pay for their prolificacy four minutes from time with questions marks again against The Reds defence. A corner was swung in, it was flicked on via a free header and there was Brandon Robinson unmarked five yards out who had time to control the ball on his chest and rifle it into the roof of the net, thus sealing Grimsby’s fifth win in five pre-season outings. Barnsley meanwhile will attempt to get off to winning ways against the successors to their Football League Trophy crown, Coventry City on Tuesday.

Barnsley Team:

Adam Davies

Andy Yiadom

Liam Lindsay

Angus MacDonald

Jason McCarthy

Lloyd Isgrove

George Moncur

Sessi D’Almedia

Adam Hammill

Alex Mowatt

Tom Bradshaw


Ryan Hedges (for Bradshaw)

Ben Williams (for Mowatt)

Adam Jackson (for Isgrove)

Stevie Mallan (for Hammill)

Jacob Brown (for MacDonald)

Romal Palmer (for Yiadom)

Jared Bird (for D’Almedia)

Matthew Wolfe (for McCarthy)

Ethan Pinnock (for Moncur)

Louis Wardle (for Lindsay)

Unused Substitutes:

Nick Townsend.