Reds Seeded For Cup Draw.

Plans for the 2012-2013 season will properly get under way next Thursday when the draw for the First Round of the League Cup is made, and Barnsley have been named as one of 16 seeded sides.

The cup, which was won by Liverpool last season will be under a new name for 2012-2013 after Carling’s nine year association ended this summer and it will now be named the Capital One Cup.

The Reds have not got a very good recent record in the competition, and have progressed past the First Round just once in the last four years when Manchester United knocked them out in the Fourth Round in 2009-2010. They have also been knocked out by lower league opposition in three of the last four tournaments.

Listed below are the seeded and non-seeded sides for the First Round Draw. (Thursday 14th June 10am.)


Seeded Teams

Non-seeded Teams

1. Barnsley

1. Accrington Stanley

2. Blackpool

2. Bradford City

3. Burnley

3. Burton Albion

4. Carlisle United

4. Bury

5. Derby County

5. Chesterfield

6. Doncaster Rovers

6. Crewe Alexandra

7. Hartlepool United

7. Fleetwood Town

8. Huddersfield Town

8. Morecambe

9. Hull City

9. Oldham Athletic

10. Leeds United

10. Port Vale

11. Middlesbrough

11. Preston North End

12. Nottingham Forest

12. Rochdale

13. Notts County

13. Rotherham United

14. Sheffield United

14. Scunthorpe United

15. Sheffield Wednesday

15. Shrewsbury Town

16. Tranmere Rovers

16. York City